Dinosaur Day

Standard

The wannabe queen is finishing up first grade with a bang.  It has been a productive year and the first grade teachers felt we needed a little excitement to make it through the last 26 days.  They reversed the alphabet and every day has a theme.

Below are just a few of the “dress up days” in which we get to participate

  • Zebra Day–wear stripes.  Wearing stripes wouldn’t seem like a big deal but it is when you are arguing with a six-year-old that plaid is a strip even though it may connect and look like a square at 6:30 a.m.
  • White Sox day–wear jersey or black and white.  Not sure how this is much different from zebra day since we are not Sox fans and have no White Sox merchandise.
  • Super Hero–this should be interesting and require a 6 a.m. wake up call from the royal one.  I’ll have to get back to you on how this works out.
  • Queen for a Day–right up her throne.
  • No shoes–this is the best one yet because getting shoes or even socks on in the morning is a major obstacle.  Trust me, we went to preschool once in the dead of winter in New England in just her socks…not even that persuaded her that shoes are necessary.
  • Wrigley Field Day–super easy until she came home with a newly finger painted jersey that belongs to her brother.
  • Horrible Hair Day–you should see that mess that grows out of the top of my daughter’s head.  Hair is genetic and she has my genes…poor baby.

Most of the days aren’t too bad just a minor headache for me (nothing a little Diet Coke and chocolate can’t fix).  However there is Dinosaur Day (bring your grandparents to school day) that has me more than a little steamed.  First of all, calling the grandparents dinosaurs is kind of insulting and secondly my parents work and my husband’s parents aren’t really up to a trip to visit.  This kind of day is great for the local bunch that have been born, raised, and live in the area.

So, here we are in a town for nine months and I am in need of some dinosaur type folks.  I shared this little bit of information with my mom today–who is anything but elderly and she felt this was a lot of pressure for a little kid who may not have anyone show up.

I guess I’m either going to have to find a “grandparent” walking down the street or request that my grandparents (who are in their 80s) come for an overnight.  I’m sure which ever choice I make will have some kind of impact that I am sure to share in the near future.

Normally, I am not a fan of summer vacation but this year I’m a little excited to say goodbye to our last 26 days of first grade.

About amyp22

I am a retired school teacher and a stay at home mom who moves a lot for my husband's job. I have three children who keep me entertained every day. They are 14, 11, and just turned 7.

3 responses »

  1. Dinosaur Day!? They’re killing me. No one sees that as offensive? Heck we are all laughing to hard to get upset.

  2. Why stop there? Why not just have it on a Saturday and call it a “Fossil Festival”? I’m 43 and plenty old enough to be a grandparent a couple of times over and I’ offended. Kinda takes the “grand” outta grandparent….

Leave a Reply

