Hey Mom, Mom, Mom, Hey Mom

Standard

Well, we have almost wrapped up the second week of summer vacation.  Can you say, “Roll that yellow bus?”  I know all my former teacher friends are freaking out about that but I felt the same way about summer vacation when I was a teacher.  My kids crave routine and 11 weeks of unstructured time just drives us all up the wall.

The teen has basketball conditioning three days a week starting at 6 a.m.  I can assure you this is cruel and unusual punishment.  To help make him more independent; I have been having him set his own alarm and he has to get me up to take him.  (We’ve only missed one, I think we are headed in the right direction.)  However, I get the wake up call at 5:15 that goes like this, ” Hey Mom, Mom, hey Mom, are you up?  It’s 5:30.”  First of all, the boy is going into the 9th grade, you would think he could tell time on both digital and traditional clocks.  Secondly, just mom, would be okay.  I promise I am not exaggerating when I say he always adds a hey in front of the mom all day long…even if I am standing right next to him.

The queen is back under my feet and that is taking some getting used.  She is behind me when I’m cleaning, to the side of the cart when I’m shopping, and standing at my elbow when I’m on the phone.  And, my husband wonders why he frequently finds me sitting in my car that is parked in the garage.

Not really sure why I try to clean in the summer.  It is a useless task to begin with and then you add the kids home all day and there is no telling what was cleaned before I started.  Just the other day, I had spent a good half hour cleaning up the sink, had just turned around to wipe down the counter when I spot the queen dumping her chocolate milk down the drain.  Not really dumping per say but making a nice circular design with it.  She was quite happy with her chocolate milk Picasso.  Me, not so much.

On top of the everyday craziness, I thought I would get a head start on back to school stuff and get the teen and tween physicals during the first week of break.  This was all working out great until the teen got two of the inoculations scheduled for the tween (one of which he also needed).  Just a heads up to all my mommy friends, do NOT schedule visits together if you are expecting shots for more than one child.  Lucky for the teen, he isn’t afraid to speak up or he would have ended up with a tDap too.  He is good to go on shots for a very long time.  Doctors’ offices have a lot to say when they mess up and give vaccinations to the wrong child.  The CDC has been checked and the teen won’t suffer, become ill, or grow a second head but it is kind of scary when it happens.

Hey Mom, Mom, I can’t wait for you to keep the teen, the tween, and the queen this summer!  It will be a nice respite.  Nothing says Hilton like Grandma’s.

 

5 responses »

  1. I have to say that as a teacher, I live for summer break, but yep, the “Hey Mom” national anthem has already begun. My biggest aggravation is getting all three to want to do the same thing at the same time 😦

  2. Ah yes, the ‘hey mom’. Classic. I have a son who will be a freshman and he plays LOTS of basketball. He’s at camp this week in another state playing his little heart out. But, thankfully the conditionings are in the evenings. School year practices have been at 6am. I have to say, I’m really not a fan.

Leave a Reply

