Rant About Crafts

Standard

I want to start this with how thankful I am to my grandmother, aunt, great granny, and babysitter who all took the time to teach me how to crochet.  I have enjoyed spending many hours stitching away.

Today the queen and I made a trip to the local craft mega store.  Me in search of some great yarn and the queen in search of whatever she could find for a $1.  We ended up in the pre-boxed craft aisle where there are so many kits and crafts to choose from.  The queen found a lovely weaving kit for $5.99.  Remember making potholders all those years ago?  That was my first enterprising experience.  I would create flyers with order forms (by hand, yes I’m that old), weave up a storm, and sell those crazy potholders for…are you ready for this….25 cents each.  Today this kit comes with the plastic loom, plastic hook (no more metal ones), and 75 loops.  We may have just enough to make one potholder.

Back in the day you could buy a huge bag of those loops.  Today you can buy a refill box for $5.99.  For some reason, it seems a little strange that 75 loops with the start-up materials and just 75 loops should differ in price…guess that BA in business wouldn’t apply to today’s business world.

As we continued to walk down the aisle I found a kit that will teach you how to crochet or knit for $19.99.  Seriously, one cardboard box with manual, hook, and little bits of yarn are going to teach young girls to crochet?  This kit supposedly included enough yarn to make a hat and a scarf (very nice set).  Making a scarf is a great beginners’ project (preferably all in one color) but the kit had at least four color changes.  Then there is the hat.  I’m pretty good with a hook and yarn but hats have a way of making me cuss–just ask my great-niece who is awaiting a matching hat to her sweater–she’s just two months old but may graduate from college before I get it right.  Additionally with a hat, you have to watch the tension of the stitches…too tight and it won’t fit a Barbie.  Maybe it is just me but it seems to me some scrap yarn or a skein of Red Heart is the way to start young ones on the path to needle crafts and for a lot less money and frustration.

We finally make our way to the cash register and the queen begins explaining to the cashier how she is going to make some potholders for her grandma.  The cashier then asks if we would like some information on craft camp.  Of course we would like that information.  As we make our way to the car, I begin to study the brochure to find it would cost $30 plus materials to take a three-hour course on how to crochet a dishcloth.  Come on, you have to be kidding me!  Did you know I can learn to knit or crochet at my local library for free?  Looking forward to late August when I can get some Number 7 needles and a ball of 100% cotton and try my hand at knitting (for free!!!).

We are now on the hunt for weaving loops.  Surely I can find them somewhere in lots of colors for less that $5.99.  Weaving should make for a great activity with temperatures hovering around 100.  Happy Fourth of July!!

2 responses »

  1. Man, I get it! Crafting supplies seem to get more and more expensive all the time, but I wouldn’t have guessed that those little loops would cost so much!

    Crochet must be in the air this year. Seems like everyone is picking up a hook and giving it a go.

    Have a great time learning to knit next month! If you get a little itchy to learn, there are a ton of knitters who have put up videos on YouTube. There’s also Ravelry (which is awesomeness itself — a free site with lots of patterns, advice, groups and forums devoted to all things yarn).

    I’ll now stop offering unsolicited advice about knitting. I can’t seem to stop myself!

  2. I totally agree needlecraft is having a huge come back. Love it!

    Totally love Ravelry. Such a fun place to go. Figuring it must be a lot like Pineterest–just haven’t figured out how to use it yet.

    No worries on unsolicited advice. I give it all the time to all kinds of people.

Leave a Reply

